top of page



ZCOG is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of individuals representing zoological institutions, nonprofit organizations, and private interests. The Board--also known as the 'Leadership Circle'--interprets and enforces the organization’s Bylaws and Policy Manual and provides advice and consent on a broad range of financial, programmatic, and operational matters.


Individuals are nominated and elected to the ZCOG Board based on a demonstrated leadership in their respective fields of expertise. Nominees must also demonstrate a strong commitment to promoting and advancing zoo and aquarium –based wildlife and habitat conservation efforts. Board members are elected by a majority vote and may serve multiple, consecutive three-year terms. A seat on the ZCOG Board of Directors may be reserved for the CEO or President of the group’s host institution.


In  September 2005, an Executive Committee of the Board of Directors was created to facilitate new policy initiatives and operational developments in the aftermath of the group’s displacement from New Orleans, Louisiana due to Hurricane Katrina. The Executive Committee is comprised of the organization’s Immediate-past Chairperson, Chairperson, Vice Chair, Treasurer, Host Institution Representative, and two Ad-Hoc members, who are selected by simple majority vote from eligible members of the ZCOG Board of Directors. The Executive Director serves as a non-voting ex-officio member of the Board of Directors and Executive Committee.


Interested in joining the ZCOG Board of Directors?  

CLICK HERE to learn more.

Download a list of our current Board members.




Use our Capital One 'No Hassle Giving Site,' powered by Network for Good, to CONTRIBUTE TO OUR EFFORTS!

Left to right:  Daniel Hilliard, Ph.D., ZCOG Executive Director, Bert Castro, Director of the Phoenix Zoo ZCOG Chairperson (2007-2009) and Jim Fleshmen, Executive Director of Cameron Park Zoo and ZCOG Chairperson (2009-2011) at Temaikén Zoo in Escobar, Argentina.

bottom of page